Historical background of Tanzania constitution

Tanzania constitution has undergone several major changes since 1961 as follows:

  1. The independence constitution of 1961.

It was made by the British colonialist. It was used when Tanganyika got her independence and when Mwl. Nyerere was a prime minister.

  1. The Republican constitution.

It was made by the constitution Assembly when Tanganyika proposing to make the country a republic Mwl. Nyerere was elected to be first president of the republic of Tanganyika.

  1. The interim constitution of the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar of 196

It was made by president of Tanzania after the union of Tanganyika and Zanzibar.

  1. The interior constitution of Tanzania 1965.

It was made by the parliament of the United Republic of Tanzania. This constitution declared Tanzania a single party state where by TANU of Tanzania mainland and ASP of Zanzibar where the only political parties recognized by the constitution. 

  1. The constitution of the United Republic of Tanzania of 1977.

It was made by constitution Assembly (BUNGE) when Tanu and ASP to form Chama cha Mapinduzi ( CCM).

Melkisedeck Leon Shine

Development Expert, Web Designer, Entrepreneur, and Technology Enthusiast.

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop