Structure of the 1977 Tanzania Constitution

The Constitutional is divided into ten chapters and Each chapter is divided into several parts.These chapter are:


CHAPTER ONE:Includes three parts ;part one declares the united Republic as a single country and its tertiary.The United Republic is proclaimed to be a democratic ,multiparty and socialist .

                     Part two states the fundamental objective ,disentrance principle of state policy.Parts three describes basic right and duties.


CHAPTER TWO: Deals with the executive of the United Republic .It has three part.Part One deals with the Presidency,Part two deals with the Vice President and Part three with the Prime Minister.


CHAPTER THREE: Deals with the legislature of the United Republic of Tanzania It has three parts,The one which touches the Parliament, another is about members,constituencies and election of members and the third is about procedures,powers and privileges of the Parliament.


CHAPTER FOUR: Describes the Revolutionary government of Zanzibar,the revolutionary Council and the

House of representatives of Zanzibar.Part one deal specifically with revolutionary government of Zanzibar and president of Zanzibar;Part two is about the revolutionary  Council while Part three is about the House of Representatives of Zanzibar.


CHAPTER FIVE: Has six part,which give description about the High Court of the United Republic,the judicial Service Commission for Mainland Tanzania ,The High Court of Zanzibar and the High Court of the United Republic of Tanzania.


CHAPTER SIX: Has two parts,which deals with the Parliament,Commission of Inquiry and Public Leader.


CHAPTER SEVEN: This chapter has two parts.Part One deals with the contribution and allocation of the revenue at the United Republic of Tanzania while part two is about the consolidated fund and the finances of United Republic of Tanzania.

ALSO READ:  The central government of United Republic of Tanzania


CHAPTER EIGHT: This chapter deals with the establishment and functions of local government authorities,such as district and municipal councils.


CHAPTER NINE: Gives explanation of armed forces and also describes the power of the commander -inchief of the armed forces.


CHAPTER TEN: This chapter has miscellaneous provisions which include interpretation of terms in constitution,union matters etc.

Melkisedeck Leon Shine

Development Expert, Web Designer, Entrepreneur, and Technology Enthusiast.

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop